Reappointment of Transport Focus Board member Theo de Pencier

20 March 2019

The Department for Transport has reappointed Theo de Pencier as Board member of Transport Focus for an additional term from 1 May 2019 until 30 April 2023.

Theo de Pencier was appointed in 2015 with a specific focus on the interests of road users. His first and current term is due to end on 30 April 2019.

Further information about the Secretary of State for Transport’s appointment is available on the Cabinet Office’s public appointments website.


Theo de Pencier was first appointed as Transport Focus Board member with effect from 1 May 2015 following an open competition regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

Transport Focus is a public body to which the terms of the Order in Council of 12 June 2014 applied at that time. A subsequent Order in Council (2016) has replaced the appointments procedure by way of the Governance Code of December 2016.

Section 10 of the Code of Practice (which governed reappointments at that time) has effect.

Neither the original appointment nor the reappointment was/is subject to Parliamentary scrutiny.

Like what you read? Please click below to share on social media.