Reappointment of Transport Focus chair

04 December 2018

The Department for Transport has reappointed Jeff Halliwell as chair of Transport Focus for an additional term from 9 February 2019 to 8 August 2021.

This follows on directly from his first and current term which started on 9 February 2016 and is due to end on 8 February 2019.

Reflecting on this decision, Jeff Halliwell said:

“It has been a great privilege to serve as chair of Transport Focus since 2016 and I am delighted to be able to continue to serve the interests of rail passengers across Great Britain, and those of bus, coach, tram and road users in England (excluding London) until 2021. But there is still much to do, and I am looking forward to leading the work of Transport Focus as it realises its mission to promote the interests of transport users over the coming, potentially difficult, years.”

Notes to editors

  1. Jeff Halliwell was first appointed as chair of Transport Focus on 9 February 2016 following an open competition regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. He took over from Colin Foxall CBE.
  2. Transport Focus is a public body to which the terms of the Order in Council of 12 June 2014 applied at that time. A subsequent Order in Council (2016) has replaced the appointments procedure by way of the Governance Code of December 2016.
  3. Section 10 of the Code of Practice (which governed reappointments at that time) has effect.
  4. Neither the original appointment nor the reappointment was/is subject to Parliamentary scrutiny.
Like what you read? Please click below to share on social media.